A new favorite TV show and a recipe to share

I have a new favorite TV show. It is a daytime talk show. On this show, people aren’t fighting or back-biting, political sides aren’t skewered, and fists don’t fly.

What is it? It is The Chew on ABC at noon (here in central time). The Chew is all about food—one of my favorite subjects. Celebrities may come on the show, but they are put to the task of cooking their favorite dish or helping one of the hosts cook. I love The Chew. I have it on my DVR to record every day, because I usually don’t get around to watching it until later in the afternoon. I have even Facebook “liked” the show.

I have tried many recipes from the show. My family now just asks “Is this from The Chew?” when something new is put in front of them. My family—they are a funny lot! Gotta love ‘em. But, they are usually more right than wrong, lately.

One new thing we tried was for Thanksgiving. One of the hosts, Michael Symon, presented a chocolate-pumpkin pie on one of the shows. So, I decided we should try it for Thanksgiving. My daughter has become the official pumpkin pie maker. She made her first one last year and it turned out wonderful. Sometime in October, she was hungry for pumpkin pie, so she made one and it turned out terrific once again. I asked her if she’d like to try this chocolate version and she was for it (anything chocolate gets high marks from her!).

It was one yummy pie! Now, I have to confess. I don’t care for pumpkin pie. Never have. I’m a pecan pie person for the holidays. I don’t know what it is about pumpkin pie. Maybe it’s the custard-like filling. Not sure. I like pumpkin bread and pumpkin muffins and other pumpkin sweets, but just not pie. But this chocolate version—yum, yum.

I have put the recipe in the “Recipe” page above. I hope that will make it easier to print out. One tip: use a deep dish pie plate. We didn’t and had some left over filling. Not one to waste anything, I decided to put the extra in a cake pan. I sprayed the pan with cooking spray and baked the filling. It came out like a mousse. That was yum, yum, too! So, if you want to have left over filling, then do as we did. Or if not, use a deep dish pan.

I also have been playing with a wheat flour crust for several years. I’ve tweaked and re-tweaked several times and have finally come upon one I really like. I think wheat pie crust is perfect for the chocolate-pumpkin pie and also for pecan pie. I’ve included that recipe, also.

I know it is past the holidays and you may not want anything pumpkin right now. So, save the recipe for next year. Or consider something different for Valentine’s Day – when chocolate is always a hit!

Let me know what you think about the pie, the crust, and even The Chew.

Those are my thoughts for today.

One comment on “A new favorite TV show and a recipe to share

  1. Pingback: The Chew «

Leave a Reply

