My Favorite Gospel

Last night, our Bible study group started a new study in the Gospel of John. We are studying John because from now to Easter, the weekend messages at our church will be from the Book of John.

I love the Book of John. I love good stories and John reads like a wonderful story. It was the first book I studied after becoming a believer. So, it has held a special place in my heart ever since. From the very first verses, John just gives me a big hug letting me know that Jesus always has been here, always will be here, and will never leave.

 In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. He was with God in the beginning. Through him all things were made; without him nothing was made that has been made. (1:1-3)

 

 John calls himself the disciple whom Jesus loves. However, in reading his Gospel, one can tell that John loves Jesus with an uncompromising adoration.

John wrote his Gospel after having written Revelation. The Book of John is the last of the Gospels to be written. John was a very old man when he wrote this book. Maybe since his life was nearing its end, he wanted to make sure we all understood the deity of Christ. Being a disciple, John was an eyewitness to the accounts he places in his Gospel. I like reading his accounts and knowing that he saw these things with his own eyes.

One of the most often quoted verses of scripture comes from this Book:

For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life. (3:16)

Reading the Book of John, for me, is like a soft, fuzzy blanket comforting me. I find contentment in the words and joy in reconnecting with my Lord and Savior.

 Jesus performed many other signs in the presence of his disciples, which are not recorded in this book. But these are written that you may believe that Jesus is the Messiah, the Son of God, and that by believing you may have life in his name. (John 20:30-31)

Those are my thoughts for today

One comment on “My Favorite Gospel

  1. Pingback: John 1:1-18 carols by candlelight service « Sermon notes and other resources

Leave a Reply

