Can this really be God’s will?

 

Have you ever had a situation in your life in which you questioned whether it could really be God’s will or not? I’m in one of those situations right now. I’m having a hard time believing this could be God’s will for our life and most specifically for my son’s. I prayed specifically that this wouldn’t be something that would happen to him. My husband prayed for “God’s will.” Needless to say, I was praying for “Teresa’s will.” But I still question whether this is God’s will.

But as a believer in Jesus Christ I know that:

  • God’s ways our higher/better than our ways
  • He is the Creator and Sustainer of all things
  • For believers, He works all things for the good
  • He has a better plan and purpose than I do
  • I don’t have to have all the answers, and
  • I don’t have to understand.

Still….I’m having a hard time resting in all that I know to be true of the Lord. I’m struggling with understanding His all-knowing, wise, and just purpose for this. I can play the guessing game, but I’m trying real hard not to do that.

I’ve gone through all the emotions—disappointment, anger, tears, on and on. But as of yet, I can’t seem to be peaceful or have the assurance that this is His will.

I’m sure, like most things, in the coming years, I’ll see more clearly God’s plan (I hope!). I’m sure I will have dealt with this like most things in my life—doing a lot of talking to God and asking Him lots of questions. I’ll seek refuge and comfort in His word and keep living my life the best I can to please Him and to show others His light.

How have you dealt with situations where God’s will just doesn’t line up with what you’d envisioned for your life? I’d love to learn from you!

Those are my thoughts for today.

2 comments on “Can this really be God’s will?

  1. I love the honesty of this post. No quick fixes, just the cry on a heart seeking God. So often we don’t see God’s plan or purpose for years but I find myself to be quite impatient. I am so trained for quick fixes and fast everything that I forget He often works through generations and it takes years for His higher things to be revealed. God can use everything in our story for the telling of His story. In surrendering all of our past to Him, He weaves it into His saving grace and uses it for His purposes. I think God allows things we have done and choices we have made that are outside of His will to be grafted into a part of the bigger plan. He can use all things… even the difficult things. “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.” Romans 8:28. Amazingly, even when I have clearly done the wrong thing, He can and does and has forgiven and redeemed them. I hang onto that promise because He is true to His Word. And if we are all truly honest with one another, we have all done many things He has needed to transform and redeem. Staying in His Word is the the best place to be.

Leave a Reply

