What I’m reading: Tony Evans’ “The Kingdom Agenda”

I am currently reading Tony Evans’ The Kingdom Agenda. It has been sitting on my “to read” book pile for a long time. My husband and I saw Tony speak in Evansville a few years ago. We’ve always liked Pastor Evans and have listened to him for many years. So, when he was going to be in our town, it was a “no-brainer” that we’d go and listen. We picked up this book at that event.

I’m just through the first chapter and there have been many nuggets of wisdom for me already. I’m going to list those here, mostly for me. This way I can go back easily and look through them. Hopefully, you’ll also gain some insight into God’s Kingdom agenda, also.

  • The reason so many of us believers are struggling is that we want God to bless our plans rather than our fulfilling His agenda. We want God to bring us glory rather than our bringing Him glory.
  • And just in case there’s any doubt, let me say right now that there are no in-between kingdoms, no gray areas here. There are only two realms in creation: the kingdom of God and the kingdom of Satan. We are subjects of one or the other.
  • The kingdom agenda assumes the existence of a body of truth. This puts us in conflict with our culture, because we live in a world where a commitment to truth no longer exists. People want convenience, not an absolute standard that says what is right and wrong, good and bad.
  • Everything visible and physical is always controlled or derived from that which is invisible and spiritual. So if you want to fix the visible and physical problems, you’ve got to address the spiritual and invisible issues first. Why? Because if you don’t address the spiritual and invisible, then you will not have a divine reference point from which to solve the visible and physical mess. What you can see, hear, touch, taste, and smell must first be addressed from God’s viewpoint before you can make any difference on the human level.
  • God says, “This world is My house, operating by My rules.” That means unless you and I want to go out and create our own universe, we must adjust to the rules of God’s house or suffer the consequences of our rebellion.
  • Living in God’s kingdom brings blessings, but you don’t get the blessings of the King if you’re not willing to live for His kingdom. You don’t get to enjoy the blessing of the King if the King cannot have you.
  • To show up at church on Sunday when God doesn’t own our Monday through Saturday is a waste of time. It is a false dualism to say, “Lord, You can have Sunday, but don’t bother me on Monday because I have to go back to the real world.” No, no. On Sunday you’re in the presence of the God who made everything. He says, “Take me with you. Don’t leave Me in the pew.”
  • God’s sovereignty also means that He either causes all that happens, or He permits all that happens. But whether he causes it or permits it, when everything is finished it will come out the way He wants it to come out.
  • God’s sovereignty doesn’t mean there won’t be any problems. It doesn’t mean Satan won’t rebel, or that people won’t say no to His will. Sovereignty says this is God’s house, and when it’s all said and done, it’s going to come out His way.
  • He can execute His kingdom agenda with or without us. I want to go with him joyfully as He unfolds His plan rather than stand in his way and have Him have to go through me or over me.
  • This is deep. Let me tell you, if you adopt God’s kingdom agenda Christ will bring together the things in your life that are falling apart. He will either fix the situation, fix you in the situation, or fix you in spite of the situation.
  • Our desire should be to give God the glory and live for His will, because we’re on His agenda. He’s the source. He’s in charge. He’s sovereign. When we do His will, we become His alternatives in a world that needs to see a better way to live.

Those are my thoughts for today.

3 comments on “What I’m reading: Tony Evans’ “The Kingdom Agenda”

  1. Don’t know when I’ve read anything so good! We have a friend who is struggling with something that your first point addresses. I’ve been trying to think of a way to put it into words, and you did. I gotta read this book! One of the things God has taught me lately…I have to come to the place where I love HIM more than I love what He has promised.

    I”m going to have to read this post over and over. It’s too full of richness to digest it all at one time!

    Thanks for sharing it.

  2. Pingback: Moving from one mess to another « master of life in earth, sky and sea

Leave a Reply

