Why does parenting have to be so hard?

Why does parenting have to be so hard? You would think as your children move into their adulthood, it would become easier. Not so for us. My mom always told me that parents never stop worrying about their children, no matter what age. I could understand that, I knew I’d be just like my mom and always worry about my children (and, then, grandchildren).

My husband and I are raising our children in a Christian home. We thought, possibly naively, that by raising our children to love Jesus it would help later on. For some reason, it doesn’t seem to be working out that way. In the past two months, both of our children have done things that shocked both of us. Never in our wildest imaginations did we think we’d be dealing with these issues.

This parenting young adult children is hard, so hard. Lines are blurred and it is difficult to know where to “parent” or where to just give advice. I’m seeking wisdom from God and can only lean on him when I really have no idea what to do or where to turn.

God seems to be providing some wonderful insight and wisdom to my husband. I, on the other hand, let emotions rule way too often. But, my great desire is to maintain a good relationship with my children, to show grace, and hopefully be a reflection of Jesus in our home.

Things seem to be settling down with both kids. Though, my husband and I joke about which one we have to deal with on any particular day. If the answer is “neither,” we count it as a good day. Funny, how we thought the “empty nest” days meant literally an empty nest. Ours is growing and, really, I can’t see that as all bad. Just not what we planned.

Those are my thoughts for today.

One comment on “Why does parenting have to be so hard?

  1. I agree it actually becomes harder than in those younger years. I’m praying for you and your family. I understand about “letting emotions lead”, it is definitely a struggle for me to always think things through before reacting. I am so thankful that the Lord’s mercies are new every morning and my family knows I love them unconditionally.

Leave a Reply

