‘Tis the season for fresh produce

My husband paid a visit to his favorite farm market stand yesterday. It is on the route he takes back from Indianapolis. Several years ago, he was going up to our state capital at least once if not twice a week. It became routine for him to stop at this roadside market to pick up fresh produce for us.

Over the years, I’ve become very picky about produce. I like fresh, in-season items. They are just better tasting. I tried having a vegetable garden for three years. The first year, I had wonderful luck and got plenty of tomatoes, zucchini, green beans, and green peppers. The next year, the zucchini is all the garden seemed to produce. The third year, I pared back to just tomatoes and had minimal luck. So, the garden was tilled up and turned into an herb and rose garden.

Because I could get fresh produce easily at our local weekly farmers market and with my husband’s stops at his favorite place, we have been able to purchase local, fresh, in-season strawberries, blueberries, peaches, watermelon, cantaloupe, tomatoes, zucchini, green beans, sweet corn, etc. Yum! My mouth is watering already.

To me, there is nothing better than the food this time of year. I love to make salads, pies, and grill out.  Memorial Day is considered the start of summer and with my husband’s purchases today, I’m ready to start my summer cooking.

Those are my thoughts for today.

Leave a Reply

