Five-Minute Friday: Risk

English: Parachuting

I’m not much of a risk-taker. Risk to me means doing something that may put your life in jeopardy–sky diving, bungy jumping, skiing on unmarked trails after jumping from a helicopter. You know, those extreme sports kind of things.

But, life is full of risk. Do I fall in love? I might risk a break-up. Do I have kids? They might consume my life. Do I send in that resume? I might get turned down for a job I think I might like. Do I tell a certain person about Jesus? He/she might reject me.

Without taking any risks, life can be dull. God took a big risk by sending His son into this world. He knew many would reject Him. He knew that He’d have to go through horrible things to accomplish His goal. But, He took the risk anyway because He loves us that much.

How can I not take some risks in my life to do those things God calls me to when He took the biggest risk of all by giving up His life for me.

I’m not much of a risk-taker, but for God, I’d hope I’d be the biggest risk-taker of all.

Those are my thoughts for today.

2 comments on “Five-Minute Friday: Risk

Leave a Reply

