I’m rallying in my love-love for tennis

Shot of a tennis racket and two tennis balls o...

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’m glued to my TV this week watching the early rounds of Wimbledon. I grew up watching this tennis tournament. It was like our Fourth of July tradition. It was during the days of Bjorn Borg, Jimmy Connors, and Chris Evert.

Our family had a condo on a lake in northern Iowa. Our unit was next to one of the tennis courts. During the summer, we spent our weekends there. Every morning, we’d go out and play tennis. I loved playing tennis. It was a sport I was decent at; considering that I was not an athletic-type at all. But when the Wimbledon finals came on, we’d be glued to our little TV–no pool time, no water-skiing. It was time to watch the pros play a game our family played.

Last year, my daughter and I took group lessons at an athletic club in town. I hadn’t touched a racket since my early 20s. I was starting my kick to be more physically active (see here) and wanted to see if I could still remember how to play. I fell in love all over again. It was so much fun.

I didn’t play much during the fall. But in February, I started going to a tennis/exercise class and began making some new friends, tennis friends. Through them, I joined a summer league for low-level players like myself. I’ve enjoyed the comradery of the Tuesday evening group and the chance to see if I can play in a mildly competitive environment. I haven’t done all that well win-wise, but I’ve had a lot of fun.

Tennis is a part of my life again. I go to the tennisize class on Tuesday and Thursday mornings and usually play a couple of sets with three other gals afterwards. Most weeks, on a third day, I play singles or doubles again. On the weekends, my husband and I try to play. My goal is to one day win one game against him (one game, mind you!).

So, when on Monday I turned on ESPN2 to watch Wimbledon, the members of my family grinned and shook their heads. “Mom, watching tennis.” They seemed to be saying I was addicted and they could hardly believe it. But, I also think they are enjoying watching me find a new passion and past-time. So much so, that they played doubles with me on Mother’s Day and my husband gave me a tennis bracelet for our anniversary. Too much fun!

Those are my thoughts for today.

3 comments on “I’m rallying in my love-love for tennis

  1. Pingback: Fully Alive with exercise « Teresa's Thoughts for Today

Leave a Reply

