Greatness–is it for just the few or all of us?

Have you seen that new Nike commercial that debuted during the Olympics? The one with the overweight pre-teen boy running? I guess there’s some controversy about it–whether it’s a good message or not. To me, I really like it. Right away I liked it. I especially like the voice-over’s message.

“Somehow we’ve come to believe that greatness is a gift reserved for the chosen few.”

I think everyone has greatness in them. Especially for those of us who are believers and followers of Jesus Christ. When the King of Kings is our Lord and Savior, we are great. God, especially, desires for us to be all that we can be. He has special plans for each and every one of us and it is up to us to figure out what those plans are and fulfill them.

It doesn’t take a Nike commercial to let me know that I am special. God has already let me know that. But, am I doing all that He wants me to do? Am I being obedient to His call on my life? Those are tough questions to answer. There are a lot of Christians out there, like me, who have a difficult time figuring out what His will and desires are for us personally.

There are corporate obedience issues–like the great commandment and great commission. But, there are also personal obedience issues. Those things that God has for each one personally. What He has in store for me is not what He has in store for you. We are uniquely created for a special and divine purpose. I, too, believe that those purposes change over our lifetime. I was called to be a stay-at-home mom and to homeschool my children. Since I now have an 18-year-old and 21-year-old, those calls have ended. God has a new purpose for me. And I am anxiously awaiting, searching, and praying what that purpose may be.

So, whether you think that Nike commercial is exploiting obese people or has a wonderful message to share, it’s overall message about each and every one of us having the potential to be great is true in the light of who we are in Christ.

Those are my thoughts for today.

One comment on “Greatness–is it for just the few or all of us?

  1. I never saw the commercial in that light. I do agree that we all have greatness within. it’s just a matter of listening and learning how to open the right door. Thanks for the freh perspective, and for sharing at NOBH.

Leave a Reply

