What is {relatively} empty nesting

So what do you do when the kids leave the nest? Or…..what if they’ve left and come back? How do you deal with adult children who have wandered away from the Lord and you’re clinging to God’s promise that “when he is old, he will not depart from it?”

All of these issues and more will be a part of a new (in)couragers group I am privileged to be a part of through DaySpring’s (in)courage on-line women’s ministry. My co-partner in this {relatively} empty nesting forum is Marina Bromley (you can find her at Marina’s Kitchen Table).

Marina and I attended the same church, but only met a few months ago. Have you ever met someone and had an instant connection? Well….Marina and I did. Sadly, though, she has moved from my area to northwest Arkansas. Happily, we will be able to stay connected through leading this group.

Our hopes, plans, and prayers for this group are to encourage women from all around the world who are walking in the season of “empty nesting,” learning ways to enrich our marriages (and balance friendships), how to “parent” without “PARENTING,” living with “boomerang kids” (they keep moving back home, for a variety of reasons), wandering adult children (spiritually and geographically), having a life after raising kids (ministry opportunities, “you” time), grandparenting (up close and from a distance), and how to live a full and balanced life (not ready for retirement,yet). These are all areas of discussion we hope to share with you.

If you’d like to join us, we have set up a blog where you can go to find out about the group. We will also be using Twitter, Facebook, and Google Hangouts (Google+ name–relatively empty nesting) to gather our “community” of {relatively} empty nesters. Go over to the blog to start out, join us if you’d like, and then get ready for some great discussion.

Oh, and if you’d like to find out about the other (in)courager groups–there are many from Bible Study Gals to Chronic Illness to Marriage Mentors to Moms of Teens to Women in Ministry and many more–click on the button at the top. To find our group, go here.

Those are my thoughts for today.

4 comments on “What is {relatively} empty nesting

  1. Hi! My name is Tammy. I have a question about your new {relatively} empty nesters group. I’m wondering if I “qualify.” I have two grown sons living in America and a teenage daughter who attends missionary boarding school in a different country than where we serve as missionaries. So basically my nest is empty – although my daughter is coming home for four days the end of the week! Typically we only see her every 3 months on her break. So I’m thinking that qualifies as a boomerang child! =) Although we’re very happy she continues to come back!!! I also have a new granddaughter in America. I recently looked online to find a blog for empty nesters, but only found one and the lady doesn’t post much. I would love to find community with other ladies in a similar time of life as I am in. BLESSINGS!

Leave a Reply

