What I made for Sunday night dinner

We’ve started a little new tradition in our household – Sunday evening family time. We have a good meal together and then play a board game or cards.

I requested we start this tradition because with grown kids it is hard to find time to spend together (even when they are still living in our home). To purposefully plan something is important in our busy family. We include each of our kids “others” on purpose in hopes they feel a part of the family.

A couple of times, we’ve started in the afternoon by going bowling or to a park to throw the Frisbee around and play bocce.

Last week, we included our son’s girlfriend’s parents and brother. We had fun teaching them Liverpool rummy—a game I grew up playing.

Yesterday, I had dueling crock pots going. In one, I made apple butter ribs from the Crock Pot Girl and in the other my favorite baked beans. I also made spiced pumpkin buttermilk biscuits from Sweet Pea’s Kitchen and for dessert, Nutella Krispie Treats from the Pioneer Woman. It was a scrumptious meal followed by a game of Chinese Checkers.

Here are links to each of the recipes:

Crock Pot Apple Butter Ribs

Five Bean Casserole

Spiced Pumpkin Buttermilk Biscuits

Yes, my family had eaten half of the pan before I could take a picture of them!

Nutella Krispie Treats

Those are my thoughts for today!

2 comments on “What I made for Sunday night dinner

Leave a Reply

