Continually thanking and praising God

1 Chronicles 16 has within it a thanksgiving psalm of David (v. 7-36). Here David is rejoicing because the ark has finally been returned to Jerusalem. In verse 4, it states that David appointed “some of the Levites to minister before the ark of the Lord, to extol, thank, and praise the Lord.”

David’s main way of thanking God for this wonderful blessing was to praise Him. David called for the instruments to be brought. Trumpets were to sound. He wanted a party. He was making sure everyone would know the wonderful thing that God had done.

The psalm that was to be sung during this celebration starts out with “Give praise to the Lord, proclaim his name.” The first thing David wanted done was to have God’s name shouted from the roof tops. All praise was to go to the Lord. Not to David and his soldiers, but to the Lord Almighty. In verse 25, he tells us that the Lord is great and worthy of praise.

Do I see how great God is? Do I worship Him as being worthy of praise?

Not always. I don’t think my praise comes soon enough. I don’t think “thank you God” comes out of my lips right away. David was throwing a celebration. Sure, a big thing had happened. The ark was finally in its rightful place. But, we don’t have to have big things happen to give thanks to God. We can throw personal celebrations, they don’t have to be big parties.

I want to be a person who is constantly thanking God for ALL things. Maybe even the things I may think are silly–a good parking spot at the mall, a good tennis game, a special evening with my husband. Those things are worthy of thanking God for also, if I’m in a constant state of thankfulness.

I often go through my daily life just living it. God is on my mind while I pray and do my Bible study and when I’m writing my blogs. But, other than that, He usually has to beat me over the head to get my attention. Why after all this time walking with Him do I still struggle to keep Him in the front of my mind? David went right away to throwing a thankfulness party to God. I so desire to be that kind of person.

Give thanks to the Lord, for he is good;
his love endures forever.

David’s psalm ends with “Praise be to the Lord, the God of Israel, from everlasting to everlasting.” He started with praising God and ends with praising God. And the end of v. 36 tells us “Then all the people said ‘Amen’ and ‘Praise the Lord’.” What a great way for a celebration to end–saying “Amen” and “Praise the Lord!” I want to start my day praising Him, end my day praising Him, and continuing on throughout the day praising and thanking Him.

Those are my thoughts for today.

9 comments on “Continually thanking and praising God

  1. Pingback: Six Word Saturday « Glenda Mills.com

  2. Pingback: THE BLESSINGS OF THANKSGIVING IS YOURS TO ENJOY « VINE AND BRANCH WORLD MINISTRIES.COM

  3. Pingback: Day 2: You are an Accident | The Coffee Shopper

  4. Pingback: Let’s shout it out! We are thankful. « Michael Wilson's Blog

  5. Pingback: Verse of the Day | ricklee's poetry plus

  6. Pingback: 121220 – George Hach’s Inner Disciplines Journal – Thursday | Quality of Life Ministries

  7. Pingback: Great is the Lord | Quality of Life Ministries

Leave a Reply

