Christmas Cookie Tuesday #1

I love making Christmas goodies. For some reason, I really like to bake during this time of year. Normally, I don’t like to bake. I don’t think I’m very good at it. I make pretty good pies and decent cookies, but that is about it. I really don’t have patience for baking. And the need to be precise is something that is difficult for me too. But making Christmas goodies brings out the baker in me for some reason.

So, for the next few weeks leading up to Christmas, I am going to post some of my favorite Christmas cookie recipes on Tuesdays. I’ll feature one cookie each week. As always, the recipes can be found under the header “Recipes.” I’ll link to them for you also, so you can easily print them out.

Yummy molasses cookies–Frosted Creams

This week is Frosted Creams. I have no idea why they are called that. They aren’t frosted (or iced). These cookies were passed down from my grandmother. My mom made them and now I’ve been making them for years. The recipe may have been passed down to my grandma, too.

They are a soft molasses cookie. They are best if you roll them out a little thick. If you want a crisper cookie, roll them out thinner. I’m partial to soft cookies, so I like them thick.

We make these around Thanksgiving. I usually cut them out in pumpkin and turkey shapes. Those are large cookie cutters, so for some smaller cookies, I use a gingerbread man and a cat cutter.

My 18-year-old daughter loves these cookies and for the past few years, she has made them for us. It’s  fun to think about passing this recipe on down to her as the fourth (or more) generation to make these cookies.

Hope you enjoy them!

Next week: Melt-in-your-mouth Nut Strudel

Those are my thoughts for today.

4 comments on “Christmas Cookie Tuesday #1

  1. Pingback: “Goody” Containers… « MKG- Memories-Keepsakes-Gifts

  2. Pingback: Christmas Cookie Tuesday #2–Melt-in-your-mouth Nut Strudel « Teresa's Thoughts for Today

  3. Pingback: Christmas Cookie Tuesday #3–Mini-Kisses Thumbprint Cookies | Teresa's Thoughts for Today

  4. Pingback: Christmas Cookie Tuesday #4–Norwegian-style Sour Cream Twists | Teresa's Thoughts for Today

Leave a Reply

