Christmas word of the week #3–Peace

Peace — my word this week is a tough one to nail down. Is it not having war, not having a troubled mind, having a home without strife? As I started looking up scripture references, I felt as if God’s Word could tell us so much more about peace than I could ever come close to. So, today, I am letting Him do the talking.

Psalm 34:14

 Turn from evil and do good;
    seek peace and pursue it.

Proverbs 14:30

A heart at peace gives life to the body,
    but envy rots the bones.

Luke 2:13-14

Suddenly a great company of the heavenly host appeared with the angel, praising God and saying,

“Glory to God in the highest heaven,
    and on earth peace to those on whom his favor rests.”

John 14:27

Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.

Philippians 4:7

And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

Colossians 3:15

Let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, since as members of one body you were called to peace. And be thankful.

Numbers 6:25-26

the Lord make his face shine on you
and be gracious to you;
 the Lord turn his face toward you
and give you peace.

Those are my thoughts for today.

Week #1–Wonder

Week #2–Joy

4 comments on “Christmas word of the week #3–Peace

  1. Pingback: Christmas word of the week #4–Holy | Teresa's Thoughts for Today

  2. Pingback: “I will be like a guard…” « master of life in earth, sky and sea

Leave a Reply

