2013 Reading Challenge–my non-fiction check-in

Initially for my non-fiction books, I was going to read some classics. There was a list put out in 2000 of the top 100 Christian books of the previous century. I’ve long wanted to wade through that list and that was my intent for 2013.

But, as with most resolutions, I changed my mind. As I was looking at my e-reader and my bookshelves, I realized I had quite a few great non-fiction selections right at my finger tips. No need to go to the public library or our library at church or try to find the book on-line. So, instead of the classics, I am going to read what I already have purchased.

First up is Everything by Mary DeMuth. As I previously stated in my earlier post, I didn’t intend to read both my fiction and non-fiction books in January by the same author. It just happened.

I enjoyed and got a lot more out of Everything than I did The Quarryman’s Wife (my fiction selection).

1400203988rgbDeMuth states her reason for this book: “As I’ve pondered my journey and mined the pathways of Everything Christians—those who learned the secret of giving Him every part of their lives—I’ve realized something–Some folks grow while others stagnate. Why? What causes growthlessness? What, on the other hand, makes people more Jesusy—more like Him? My exploration of the whys behind that kind of radical change forms the framework of this book.” And explores it she does. She looks at three areas of our liveswhere we need to give God Everything in order to live the life He has for us: (1) Head–What we think; (2) Heart–Who we are; (3) Hands–How we live

DeMuth’s basic question throughout the book is “What accounts for maturity, the hallmark of growth? Why do some languish and while others thrive?” And a good question it is. Not only when looking at other believers, but at ourselves, too. Why do we thrive and grow like a weed in our faith sometimes and why during other times are we stagnant like a scummy pond?

DeMuth tells us that what we think about God matters; how we allow Him to reign in our hearts matters; and how we obey Him in the moment matters.

She covers each of the three areas very well. My copy has a lot of highlighting in it–my test of a book that is worth reading and can offer lessons to be learned. It did take me awhile to get through it. Don’t know why, probably life getting in the way, but you might want to allow some time for reading Everything so that you can get the most out of it and take time to digest what DeMuth is teaching.

One of my favorite lines in the book:

We may live ordinary lives, but we are indwelt by an extraordinary God.

I’m participating in the Deliberate Reader’s 2013 reading challenge. I’ve linked up there. If you’d like to join in on the challenge, go here.

Those are my thoughts for today.

Leave a Reply

