Names of Christ #5–I AM

In the book of John, there are seven “I AM” statements made by Jesus that tell us who He is. Every one of these statements can be considered unique names of Christ. Read them over and consider what they mean to you and the implications of Christ possessing each of these qualities.

Then Jesus declared, “I am the bread of life. Whoever comes to me will never go hungry, and whoever believes in me will never be thirsty. (John 6:35)

Just as food can calm our hungry stomachs, Christ can calm our hungry souls. The need for “something more” that we all seem to desire. Our thirst and desire for relief from the guilt of sin is found in Jesus Christ and we never have to yearn for salvation again if we believe in Him and accept in Him once and for all.

When Jesus spoke again to the people, he said, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.” (John 8:12)

To live by the light of Christ is to see clearly the meaning of life—to live a life devoted to God and His will for us. It is like following someone in the dark and that person is the only one with a flashlight. He is followed because he can see the way to go but following the flashlight-bearer is a choice.

I am the gate; whoever enters through me will be saved. They will come in and go out, and find pasture. (John 10:9)

Right here, Jesus is telling us he is the way to salvation. He is the only way. We must put our trust and faith in Him to be saved. To be able to come in and go out is to move freely and safely. Christ provides the protection for us just as Psalm 121:8 says “The LORD will watch over your coming and going both now and forevermore.” To find pasture is to find abundance and nourishment. Again, Jesus provides that for each of us that believe in Him as our Lord and Savior.

 “I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd lays down his life for the sheep.” (John 10:11)

Jesus as Shepherd does more than risk His life; He gives His life in death. This sacrifice is for “the sheep”—his followers.

Jesus said to her, “I am the resurrection and the life. The one who believes in me will live, even though they die; and whoever lives by believing in me will never die. Do you believe this?” (John 11:25-26)

Jesus is speaking to Martha here after Lazarus has died. He was drawing her into a personal relationship with Him using the doctrinal beliefs she already had. He wants her to know that He is the source of a resurrected life—both spiritually and physically. The spiritually dead person will live again in Christ and those who believe will never die because of the certainty of eternity with Christ.

Martha’s response?  “Yes, Lord,” she replied, “I believe that you are the Messiah, the Son of God, who is to come into the world.” (John 11:27). Is that your response?

Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.” (John 14:6)

Jesus here states that He, alone, is the source of the way, the truth, and the life. He is not one of the ways or one of many truths. He is not just a philosopher teaching about a way, a truth, or a life. Here, He clearly states His deity and oneness with God the Father.

“I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.” (John 15:5)

To remain in Christ is to bear fruit both in Christ-like character and in influencing others. To remain or be dependent on Jesus is not a negative thing. It is truly living by faith. 

Here’s another song to listen to go along with Jesus Christ as the Great I AM.

Thumbnail

Those are my thoughts for today.

Week #1–Lamb of God

Week #2–Son of Man

Week #3–Son of God

Week #4–The Word

4 comments on “Names of Christ #5–I AM

  1. Pingback: WE ARE PROCLAIMING THE I AM THAT LIVES IN EACH ONE OF US | VINE AND BRANCH WORLD MINISTRIES.COM

Leave a Reply

